. . . Looking Back at 2013

So, 2013 seemed to fly by. Here’s a recap of how I did last year.

Here’s how I did on last year’s resolutions:

1. More gaming with friends and family.
I did better on this resolution in 2013. My family bought Mice and Mystics, and we have played quite a number of games this year. We’re almost finished with the campaign that comes with the boxed set. We also played a few more games, and as my oldest son’s reading is improving, he’ll be up for even more games this year. Here’s the official list of what we played in the family this year:
Battle Line (x2)
Dungeon! (x2)
Mice & Mystics (x6)
Sneaky, Snacky Squirrel (x3)
Spot It (x7)
Sequence (x1)
Black Sheep (x2)
Hawaiian Punch (x1)

2. Keep painting!
Last year, I wanted to paint at least 52 minis, and I painted 53. That’s at least 1 per week as an average, but the bulk of that painting came in a frenzied burst in the summer. I’d like to paint more consistently over the year. I have a ton of minis from Reaper’s Bones Kickstarter, and painting some of them would give me some nice minis to use with Song of Blades and Heroes.

3. Do more with what I have.
Last year, I resolved to buy fewer new games and play more with what I have. I actually did pretty well with this. While my board game expenditures are still not completely under control, I did manage to avoid buying into tons of RPGs that I’ll never play. I’ve started using an Excel spreadsheet as a wish list to help control what I buy, and it’s helped a lot. Setting an official family budget and tracking it more carefully has also helped. 

4. Produce more; consume less.
This is the area where I failed most miserably. The blog lost even more posts this year, going to less than once a month. Teaching has been a bit better, as I’ve been re-working my classes–including thinking of a way to gamify my class on the 1920s. But while I cut out Candy Crush and most other iPad games, I still spent a lot of time on stuff that wasn’t directly productive.

Board Game Count

Lost two games of DBA, one to Robert and one to Colt.

Age of Gods (11/?? 0-1)
Chez Geek (3/22 0-3)
Eight Minute Empire (6/3 0-1)
Formula De (10/24 1-1)
Guillotine (3/22 0-2)
Illuminati (9/12 1-0)
Jaunty Jalopies (10/24 0-1)
Sentinels of the Multiverse (7/22 0-1, 8/1 2-0)
X-Wing (5/9 1-1)

As always, I calculated the end of year point totals as (Wins/Losses)*total games played in an attempt to weight the number of games played, and not just the pure win/loss record. I had a 2% better win percentage again this year, although with far fewer games played. (And most of my wins coming in cooperative games…) Newcomer Colt had a great win percentage, but repeating games we had played in the past hurt Billy.

Me: 5-11 (7.27 / 2nd / 31%)
Billy: 2-7 (2.57 / 4th / 22%)
Paul: 6-10 (9.6 / 1st / 38%)
Robert: 0-1 (0 / 5th / 0%)
Colt: 3-4 (5.25 / 3rd / 43%)

On the roleplaying game front, we played PendragonWarhammer Fantasy RP (FFG version), and Dark Heresy. Our Halloween game was a short Call of Cthulhu scenario. Changes abound for this year with the Rotgut Manglers because of the departure of Robert. More on that in the resolutions post, coming soon.

2 thoughts on “. . . Looking Back at 2013

  1. I don’t remember playing whatever game it was that I played. I’m looking forward to the next post (and keeping my fingers crossed that virtual gaming works).

    1. I think you played 8 Minute Empire with us right before gaming one night. Beeje played with us, too. Little game about putting wooden pieces on a map and claiming resource cards? Takes about 8 minutes. 😉

Leave a comment